By The Gil-Man

 I must say that I was really excited when I heard that legendary rock drummers, Carmine and Vinny Appice, were coming out with a new studio album this fall.  But while looking forward to hearing it, it dawned on me that in their nearly 40 years of playing for some of rock and roll's biggest bands - Vanilla Fudge, Blue Murder, Rod Stewart, Ozzy Osbourne, King Kobra and Cactus for Carmine and Dio, Black Sabbath, Heaven & Hell, Kill Devil Hill and Last in Line for Vinny - this was actually their first attempt at recording a studio album together.  Well, the boys finally made the time to get it together and let me say, it was definitely worth the wait.

 From the opening and title track, "Sinister", you realize that this isn't going to be anything like their 2014 live album, "Drum Wars", as we are immediately hit with heavy, melodic guitar riffs and strong vocals on 13 original songs, with the help of some of their former band mates and friends.  As a matter of fact, the first 4 songs, "Sinister", Monsters and Heroes", "Killing Floor" and "Danger", are loaded with catchy guitar riffs that kept me glued to my headphones all night long.  But make no mistake about it, the Appice brothers don't get lost in the shuffle at all, as their drumming - Carmine, a little more melodic and Vinny, a little heavier and faster - while not overpowering, are prominently featured.

 Predictably, we get a song called "Drum Wars", which showcases the enormous talents of both Carmine and Vinny and is 3 minutes and 46 seconds of listening to rock royalty, which I was more than okay with.  We also get, for the first time ever, Carmine singing lead vocals on a song called, "You Got Me Running", which he pulls off pretty well.  Things slow down a bit for me with the autobiographical, "Bros in Drums", but the rest of the record is solid rock and roll from top to bottom, even pulling off a Black Sabbath medley at the end.

 Like I said earlier, some of Carmine and Vinny's former band mates and friends contributed heavily to this album, one that the Appice brothers should be very proud of, and should be acknowledged.  Vocals - Jim Crean, Paul Shortino, Robin McAuley, Chas West and Scotty Bruce; Guitar - Craig Goldy, Bumblefoot, Koel Hoekstra, Mike Sweda, Erik Turner and David Michael Phillips;  Bass - Tony Franklin, Phil Soussan, Johnny Rod and Jorgen Carlson; Keyboards - Erik Norlander.